The 2021 MACK First Book Award: Submissions now Open


Submissions are now open for The 2021 MACK First Book Award. If you have a project intended for print submit all considerations to before the 25th of January 2021.

The MACK First Book Award is a publishing prize open to artists who have not previously had a book published. The award was established in 2012 to support emerging artists and bodies of work that find a voice through the book form. Each year our jury creates a shortlist of ten submissions and then chooses a winner who receives the opportunity to collaborate with MACK in publishing their book project. The award involves both publication of the winner by MACK and a solo exhibition at Webber Gallery, London in May 2021.


The 2021 jury is comprised of only UK-based members in order to help ensure that this year’s judging will go ahead:

Mariama Attah; Curator of Open Eye Gallery, Liverpool
Polly Fleury; Director of Special Projects at the Wilson Centre for Photography
Renée Mussai; Senior Curator, Autograph, London
Eugenie Shinkle; Photographer and writer
Clare Strand; Artist

More information can be found at:

Images — Damian Heinisch, 45. 2020 Winner.