Thirteen: Hartford MFA Photography Thesis Show


Joseloff Gallery is pleased to present 13, a group exhibition of the Hartford MFA Photography graduating class of 2017. This exhibition brings together the work of thirteen photographers: Rita Baunok, Ben Brody, Charles Byrne, Zach Callahan, Matthew Genitempo, Garrett Grove, Kelly Lynn James, Seth Johnson, Kevin Kunstadt, Emma Phillips, Tamara Reynolds, Andrew Waits and Virginia Wilcox.

The work of the photographers in 13 varies broadly in impetus and form. Several artists choose to directly address the current tenuous political climate, as well as those who have been cast-off or have opted-out of the progress of our cities. Others look inward investigating adoration and trauma – physical and mental. Still others merge the psychological with the temporal; leading the viewer through semi-fictional narratives based on both their own experiences of the world and through their descriptions of the physical environment.

Founded in 2010, Hartford’s MFA Program in Photography is the first graduate art program with a curriculum centered on the intersection of art, documentary practice and the photobook. Graduates present both a book and an exhibition of their thesis work.

The program demands conceptual rigor, precise editing, formal experimentation and photographic excellence. The program’s faculty includes Director Robert Lyons, Jörg Colberg, Mary Frey, Alice Rose George, Alec Soth and Michael Vahrenwald. Notable guest artists and critics have included Doug Dubois, Dru Donovan, Felix Hoffman, Lisa Kereszi, Hiroh Kikai, Susan Lipper, Wiebke Loeper, Ute Mahler, Tod Papageorge, John Priola, Michael Schäfer, Paul Schiek, Mark Steinmetz, Hannes Wanderer and Thomas Weski.

Opening Reception: August 11th, 7-9 pm / On View: August 6th –12th / Gallery Hours: 11:00 – 4:00 pm daily /