Mossless: The United States (2005 – 2015)


Following on from Friday nights I.P.F: ribbon cutting Respecting Representation, The Heavy Collective In collaboration with Romke of Mossless Magazine co-present Mossless: The United States (2005-2015) a collection of work by ten photographers who have captured a fragment of life in America.

Featuring Daniel Shea, Whitten Sabattini, Lindsay D’Addato, Eva O’Leary, Yeon J Yue, Timothy Briner, Mo Costello, Suzanna Zak and Juan Madrid, this is a showcase of new photographers who have each made a significant mark on the social landscape at a time when it’s essential to capture a compelling moment, in the spirit of iconic photographers like Walker Evans, Dorothea Lange and Stephen Shore, who made work that came to define America’s past.

Romke Hoogwaerts began Mossless in 2009 as a blog on which he profiled emerging photographers. In 2012, Mossless came offline with the release of Issue 1, a photobook that brought its digital presence into stores and galleries around the world. In 2014, Romke and his partner Grace Leigh released Mossless Issue 3, a milestone undertaking featuring work by more than 100 artists. Time magazine listed the publication a top photobook of 2014.

This event follows on from our IPF NY & IPF 2015 launch event the night before also held at Ludlow Studios – Respecting Representation: Saturday, September 19at 7:00pm in EDT –  Ludlow Studios, 40 Ludlow St, New York, New York 10002. Copies of Mossless, Issue 3 will be available at NYABF over the weekend.